Press Release

First Round Schedule set for 2022 MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs 


Conference Semifinals Begin Saturday, September 24

NEW YORK CITY (September 18, 2022) – After a dramatic MLS NEXT Pro Decision Day on Sunday, the final eight-team field is set for the inaugural MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs. Going into the last day of the regular season on Sunday, three of the four spots in the Eastern Conference were up for grabs. While the four spots in the Western Conference had already been clinched, Sunday’s results determined seeding for those clubs.

The first round of the MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs, the Conference Semifinals, will take place Saturday, September 24, and Sunday, September 25, at the home of the two higher-seeded teams in each conference.

The Conference Semifinals schedule is as follows:

Eastern Conference

Saturday, September 24

Columbus Crew 2 (1) vs. Rochester New York FC (4) – Historic Crew Stadium (3:00 p.m. ET)

Toronto FC II (2) vs. Philadelphia Union II (3) – BMO Field (7:00 p.m. ET)

Western Conference

Sunday, September 25

St Louis CITY2 (1) vs. North Texas SC (4) – TBD (7:30 p.m. ET)

Tacoma Defiance (2) vs. Houston Dynamo 2 (3) – Starfire Sports Complex (10:30 p.m. ET)

Fans will be able to watch every match of the MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs live via enhanced broadcasts on

Within each conference, the two Division Champions plus the two teams with the next-highest point totals qualified for the Playoffs. In the Eastern Conference, Columbus Crew 2 claimed the Central Division title while Toronto FC II won the Northeast. Crew 2 finished the regular season with the best record in the League (55 points,16-3-5) and as such will hold home-field advantage for the duration of the Playoffs. In the Western Conference, Tacoma Defiance won the Pacific Division and St Louis CITY2 clinched the Frontier Division and the top seed in the conference.

The 2022 MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs will continue the weekend of October 1 with the Eastern and Western Conference Finals and will culminate with the inaugural MLS NEXT Pro Cup on October 8.