2022 MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs

Ryan Lima's Lazer Shot Wins Goal of the Year Award

Ryan Lima

There were a total of 852 goals during the inaugural MLS NEXT Pro regular season, but only one ended up winning the 2022 Goal of the Year award.

New England Revolution II midfielder Ryan Lima edged four other finalists after delivering a sensational strike in the early stages of the regular season. Lima’s long-range strike in a 3-2 victory over FC Cincinnati 2 on April 17 was chosen as our inaugural Goal of the Year winner.

The 21-year-old cut into the middle of FC Cincinnati’s side of the field before unleashing a missile into the top-left corner. Lima would finish the campaign as one of Revolution II’s top players, scoring four goals and adding four assists in 16 appearances for Clint Peay’s squad.

Lima beat out many top goals for the award, edging St Louis CITY2’s Selmir Pidro, Philadelphia Union II’s Stefan Stojanovic, and Houston Dynamo 2’s Marcelo Palomino.

We asked all MLS NEXT Pro fans to vote on Twitter for this season’s award, and Lima’s effort earned him roughly 50.4% of the 2,584 votes.

“I'm very happy to have won Goal of the Year in MLS NEXT Pro’s inaugural season amongst some really strong competition,” Lima said. “It’s an honor to represent New England Revolution II in this way, and we’re looking forward to coming back even stronger next season.